Wednesday, 3 September 2014

Björk - Live @ The Union Chapel, & The Brodsky Quartet, London, England, UK, [1st Show] December, 09th (09-12-1999) - [AAC-M4A]

AAC-M4A download link: - - Björk and the Brodsky Quartet [1st Show]
The Union Chapel
London, England
[total time 79:00]
01. Unravel
02. All Neon Like
03. I've Seen It All
04. Come To Me
05. Who Do You Think You Are? *
06. The Modern Things
07. Hyperballad
08. Like Someone In Love
09. Sod Off [Icelandic] *
10. Five Years
11. Why? *
12. Possibly Maybe
13. Anchor Song
14. Jóga
15. Bachelorette
16. You've Been Flirting Again
17. Play Dead
18. Hunter
19. Anyone Who Had A Heart *
20. Downtown *
21. It's Oh So Quiet [Silent Night intro]

Silver CD > EAC > SHN > FLAC

Björk and the Brodsky Quartet played two concerts at the Union Chapel in
London/Islington on Dec 9th and 11th.

Gaps between tracks are on the original silver cd.
EAC was used in test & copy mode with a Plextor PX-R820T, all CRCs ok.
Hardware offset +681.

A Bjork Hub Production:

Please support this superb and unique artist: - re-encoded to AAC-M4A [superiour björklossless sound] by - Union Chapel, 1st Show] December, 09th (09-12-1999) Review:
Strung out on the sublime
A Victorian chapel, a sea of candles, a large and expectant-looking crowd. No, not the local primary school’s Nativity play, though the atmosphere couldn’t have been much more Christmassy if a crib and a donkey had been wheeled out on to the Union Chapel stage. Instead we get Björk and the Brodsky Quartet, a seemingly unlikely pairing until you take into account the Icelander’s trademark eclectism.
Her recorded material has always been littered with orchestral textures—a vestige of her training as a classical musician—and her versatile compositions would probably accommodate a wobble board and a penny whistle, never mind something as conventional as a string quartet.
Tonight, Björk’s songs are stripped bare and, to begin with, the mood is one of uncertainty. During “Unravel” and “All Neon Like”, the singer tiptoes around the songs much like she tiptoes around the stage, as if frightened of making too much noise in the consecrated surroundings. During “I’ve Seen It All”, the strings seeming more an accessory than an integral part of the proceedings, and the reception is merely polite.
It is not until “Modern Things” that they start to enjoy themselves and the sound develops into a coherent whole. Looking more like a school dinner lady than a Nineties icon in a pink gingham dress, Björk finally unleashes the old dynamism, flinging her arms into the air, stamping her bare feet and opening her mouth as wide as possible, as if allowing her repertoire of squeaks and susurrations to come tumbling out at once. Her voice is extraordinary, moving from a choirgirl’s clarity to the guttural growl of an articulated lorry revving its engine.
Though Björk has been performing a handful of these songs for over seven years she still seems to exude a childlike sense of wonder at every note, an almost gauche demeanour that belies the maturity and sophistication of her talents.
The Brodskys seemed determinedly unabashed by her antics, their stiff upper lips even remaining intact when all but the cellist are sent to stand in the corner during a sublime version of “Like Someone In Love”.
Indeed, a lot of the evening’s credit must go to the string musicians, for it is their generously restrained performance that gives Björk the space to reach new heights of perfection, their soft textures allowing the abstract melodies to float freely, their indomitable poise making the singer’s movements seem, by contrast, all the more oddball.
“I’m not much of a talker,” she says, thanking the crowd and weaving the hem of her pink dress in and out of her fingers. True enough. Rather, it is her lyrics that speak volumes about her work. “Sometimes the things I do astound me,” she intones in “Like Someone In Love”. She’s not the only one.
Fiona Sturges - The Independent

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.