Tuesday, 5 August 2014

Björk - Live @ Hollywood Bowl, Los Angeles, USA, August, 11th (11-08-2003) - [AAC-M4A]

AAC-M4A download link: - https://www.mediafire.com/?b7ybxb1dvj6gy6w - Setlist: 
01. Unravel 
02. I’ve Seen It All 
03. Jóga 
04. Sídasta Ég *
05. Aurora 
06. Desired Constellation 
07. Cocoon 
08. All Is Full Of Love 
09. Hunter 
10. Nature Is Ancient 
11. Five Years 
12. Pagan Poetry 
13. Bachelorette 
14. Hyperballad 
15. It’s In Our Hands (SPT Mix) 
16. Pluto
17. Generous Palmstroke 
18. Human Behaviour
Hollywood Bowl

Without any new material, Björk is put in the unenviable position of competing with herself, specifically her 2001 Dorothy Chandler Pavilion concert, a stunning, once-in-a-lifetime event with the potential to overshadow anything that follows. But the Icelandic singer all but ignored that, kicking off the evening with “Unravel,” a ballad that promises, “When you come back/we’ll have to make new love.” While her performance did not quite live up the high bar she set, it was an impressive evening nonetheless. Given the task of performing in cavernous ballparks and amphitheaters, Björk has counter intuitively slimmed down her band. Gone are he orchestra and the choir, with just the Icelandic String Octet playing alongside harpist Zeena Parkins and electronic duo Matmos.

Surprisingly, it’s the right choice ; the leaner arrangements are better suited for the booming amplification necessitated by large venues. And Björk deftly shuffled the elements, with the octet adding a romantic surge to “Jóga,” Parkins joining Björk for the delicate filigree of “Síðasta Ég” and Matmos’ crunchy rhythms giving “Aurora” its otherworldly aura. When all three came together for “It’s in Our Hands” and “Pluto,” the joyous on-rush of sound virtually levitated the sell-out aud.

A charming performer close up, Björk is still a stubbornly inward presence, singing to the wings as often as she projects to the back of the house. To compensate, she has brought an extravaganza on the road with her. At various points, flames shot up around her and fireworks exploded above the crowd. Videos accompanied “Unravel,” “Desired Constellation,” “Nature Is Ancient” and “Pluto,” their jarring, surreal images forming a kind of Edda, or creation story, as they moved from a swirling chaos to written communication, culminating the finale of “Human Behavior,” where she advised, “There’s no map and a compass wouldn’t help at all but is ever so satisfying.”

This summer has been a busy one for Björk. Beyond her tour, which stops at Brooklyn’s Keyspan Park Aug. 22-23 (with Sigur Ros opening), she’s promoting the release of three DVDs (video collection “Volumen,” performance disc “Vessel” and compilation bio “Inside Björk”) and a four-CD boxed set collecting concerts front throughout her career. “Björk Live.” with an accompanying book.

Steven Mirkin - Daily Variety

CD cover curtsy of benjicoq. tour pictures curtsy of www.bjorkish.net
re-encoded to AAC-M4A [superiour björklossless sound] by

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.