Friday, 18 July 2014

Björk - Live @ The Warfield Theatre, San Francisco, California, CA, USA, (05-21-1998) - [AAC-M4A]

AAC-M4A download link: - - Björk
Warfield Theater
San Francisco, CA, USA

Björk with string octet.

Audience recording:
Schoeps MK4 -> RMOD -> Sony D7 -> Lossless Digital Transfer to PC
(Mics placed Dead Center of theater 30 feet back.)

01. Headphones + Warfield Greetings
02. Hunter
03. You've Been Flirting Again (Icelandic Version)
04. Isobel
05. All Neon Like
06. Possibly Maybe
07. Immature
08. Come To Me
09. Five Years
10. Venus As A Boy
11. Bachelorette
12. Hyperballad
13. Human Behaviour
14. Violently Happy
15. Plúto
16. Jóga
17. Play Dead

Mastered by PersistentSound
Tracked by Sprk (2 separate discs turned into full show, fillers deleted, some tracking cues adjusted - done in CD Wave Editor) 
re-encoded to AAC-M4A [superiour björklossless sound] by
Björk Casts a Cool Spell
It’s not the machine’s fault if electronic music has no soul, Björk likes to argue. Easy for her to say : This Icelandic pixie has soul—old soul—to burn.
The former lead singer of the Sugarcubes, the late ‘80s pop collective that put Iceland on the musical map, Björk Guðmundsdóttir is one of contemporary pop’s inimitable, and eccentric, performers.
After flaking on more than one scheduled appearance in the Bay Area recently, Björk finally returned to San Francisco to headline a sold-out show Thursday night at the Warfield.
As if to apologize, she weaved a magic spell with her breathtaking singing, romping around the stage in a white, long-sleeve mini-dress outfitted with accordion wings that absorbed the icy blues and greens of her light show.
Adding to the visual curiosity, her unique backing group consisted of two distinct elements—sample sculptor Mark Bell to her left, the Icelandic String Octet to her right.
After a grinding opening set by one-man synthesizer band Mu-Ziq, Björk took the stage.
“This first song is dedicated to compilation tapes,” she said, introducing “Headphones” wearing a rubbery white mask on her forehead that perfectly matched the doll-like quality of her broken English accent. “When a friend makes you a tape, it’s really, really precious.”
Obviously, this woman lives for the pure pleasure of sound. Lyrically, she’s masterly with her own absurd, kaleidoscopic thoughts : “I don’t recognize myself,” she sang on the opening number. “This is very interesting.”
What’s most compelling about Björk is that she’s a bundle of seething contradictions. She’s operatic and base, she’s kitschy and pretentious, she’s mawkish and brutal. Her second solo album, 1995’s “Post,” was aptly titled—she’s nothing if not postmodern.
“I thought I could organize freedom,” she sang on her second song, “Hunter,” from her most recent album, last year’s “Homogenic.” “How Scandinavian of me !”
Björk’s singing voice is a marvel, an instrument capable of swooping between brittle bell tones and glottal shrieks in the space of a few syllables. And it’s just as impressive in a live setting as it is on record. In particular, her shrill desperation on “Bachelorette” was majestic when coupled with the Octet’s melodramatic soundtrack.
Passing through relationships as if in a dream is a recurring theme of Björk’s songs, and she asserts her independence with the high individuality of her voice.
“How could I be so immature to think he would replace the missing elements in me ?” she sang on “Immature.” “How extremely lazy of me !”
As the string section sat motionless during the dance track “Violently Happy,” Björk raced back and forth in bare feet to the syncopated thump. She’s an irrepressible dust devil, a former child star who knows how to command attention.
Throughout the set, Bell tinkered with the layered samples of Björk’s solo albums, from the Portishead- like hum and crackle of “Possibly Maybe” and the New Order-ish techno beats of “Hyperballad” to the Pac-Man march of “5 Years.” On many songs, the string section provided a stately classical backdrop that brilliantly counterbalanced the music’s metallic gloss.
Björk didn’t address her audience much between songs, but when she did, she was a delight. “We are not very talkative, but we are grateful people,” she said before carrying her bunny slippers offstage. “Sank you.”
After an encore that included the pitched emotional battle of “Joga” and “Play Dead,” her collaboration with DJ David Arnold, Björk led her group offstage with one last thought. “I hope you sleep gorgeously tonight,” she said.
James Sullivan - San Francisco Chronicle

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.